Factory reset

We asking all new users to read the articles below, before creating their first posting or thread.

  • 4. Instruction Articles

    • Please note, in this forum are only English threads and postings allowed, without any exception!

      Please follow the forum rules, thank you for your understanding.

  • curious as i have never done it.

    1 do most do full wipe after a major update?

    2 does it make a difference in how box works when you do?

    3. Is it easy to back up data etc so you dont need to download all apps ans settings again

  • 1. Factory reset can often fix any residing problems. As example, things such as Wi-Fi/Ethernet connectivity, interface, hardware, software and many other problems or sluggish behaviour, can often be fixed with a factory reset if the update did not resolve these issues already.

    If you think that your device is running smoothly, without any hindrance after the update, a factory reset is absolutely not necessary.

    I recommend this each time after big and major update, but at end should the user always decide if the invested time into FR and time is ok for him.


    Users with new boxes, should always after first setup process, do all available official updates and at end then once factory reset. After FR set the box again and install all apps that they need. If all works fine, then backup on USB Stick or HDD.


    2. After factory reset are all settings, included data, apps and updates from them gone. Box need to be set fresh (setup process). All databases are reset to factory state. So, if after major update some option doesn`t work well or not at all, this could help.


    3. Sure, backup data should be done each time when you are happy with your installation. If something goes wrong you can restore your backup in few minutes. Unfortunately this helps only if you are still on same firmware version.

    Means, each time you install new firmware you have to do backup again. Restoring backup data with older firmware on new updated firmware, will not work or should be not restored because of incompatibility.